The Downtown Sheridan Association’s 10th Annual Goose Creek Polo Cup on July 28th proved to be a huge success with a high-rated polo cup, professional long-ball competition and sponsor long-ball competition raising $27,000!  All proceeds raised during this event benefit Downtown Sheridan Association’s mission, “To preserve, enhance, and promote historic downtown Sheridan to ensure future prosperity” and to advocate for maximum benefits for the Little Goose and Big Goose streams. Phase I & II are complete, and the Goose Creek Restoration Project recently transitioned into a Design and Construction Phase.

The crowd enjoyed an exciting afternoon of polo in beautiful weather at the Flying H Polo Fields. The Bud Light Team of Jeff Blake, Miguel Astrada, Shane Rice and Sugar Erskine won 11-8 against the Coca Cola Team of Frankie Bilbao, Jason Crowder, Julian De Lusarreta and Steve Krueger.

Most Valuable Player, sponsored by Legacy Diamond and Gems, was awarded to Sugar Erskine. The Best Playing Pony award, sponsored by Bison Union, was received by Twiggs who was played by Frankie Bilbao.

The afternoon started with kid’s foot races sponsored by Carroll’s Furniture. Sponsors enjoyed tents supplied with food, beverages and prizes. The Champagne Divot Stomp, sponsored by Bursch Travel and Sheridan Custom Stone, brought the crowd onto the polo field to stomp divots. 

The Goose Creek Polo Cup is the highest-rated polo game played in the US this summer and provides a great way for the public to enjoy an afternoon of polo with family and friends. This event would not be possible without our generous sponsors and dedicated volunteers. A special thank you to the Flying H Ranch and the Skey Johnston Family for partnering with Downtown Sheridan Association.

Photo: The Coca Cola Team (in Red) and the winning Bud Light Team (in blue) at the Goose Creek Polo Cup.  Jim Mowry, Jay Martinson, Julian De Lusaretta, Steve Krueger, Jason Crowder, Peg Martin, Frankie Bilbao, Zoila Perry, Sugar Erskine, Paula Whitworth, Shane Rice, Miguel Astrada, Megan Cook, Jeff Blake, Robby Smith, and Chris Carroll. 

Zoila Perry, Executive Director